Otago Region

Paper4trees was first introduced to the Otago Region in 2009.

Since then, we have signed up a total of 
239 schools and preschools!
That is the equivalent to
 85% of all Otago schools and 55% of all Otago preschools.

Between 2009 and 2020, Otago schools and preschools have:


  • Diverted 2946 tonnes of paper and cardboard from landfill
                 - That's around the same as 736.5 elephants!

  • Saved 23,569 cubic metres of landfill space

  • Prevented 25,909 tonnes of carbon dioxide from being created in landfill

Isn't this an amazing effort? We think so, which is why we have rewarded Otago schools and preschools with a total of...

11,708 native trees! to plant in their school grounds or within their local community.



Latest local annual reports:

Central Otago District
Clutha District
Dunedin City
Waitaki District
Show More

Click the areas below for a list of participating schools and preschools:

Central Otago District

Clutha District

Dunedin City

Queenstown-Lakes District

Waitaki District


A programme run by Environmental Education for Resource Sustainability Trust

Suite A, 184 Cameron Road

Tauranga 3110

PO Box 2523, Tauranga 3144

07 578 7025


Office Hours: Mon - Fri 8:30am - 4:30pm

© 2020 by Paper4trees. Web design by TriumFit Web.

Zero Waste Education